According to Privett:

"I've been practicing law for over 35 years. This gives me the ability to make decisions based on experience and sound reasoning being seasoned in trial combat." 

Oklahoma Arson 

More and more building is happening all over the United States as the population grows and people attempt to get into the realm of property ownership. While this reality presents both positive and negative aspects to society in general, it also creates the potential for bigger disasters than ever before when something goes wrong.

One of the many things that can go wrong is the starting and spread of a fire. Fires destroy everything in their paths, including buildings, nature and lives. As a result of this general public policy, those accused of arson in Oklahoma face severe penalties if convicted, as legislators have a long history of reacting to the public consciousness.

If you or someone you love has been charged with arson in Oklahoma, you need to take action immediately to begin the process of building a defense. Contact Privett Law to schedule an initial consultation and to assert your Constitutional rights properly. In the meantime, below is a brief look at the Oklahoma statutes that govern arson.

Oklahoma Arson in the First Degree 

Any person who willfully and maliciously sets fire to or burns, or by the use of any explosive device, accelerant, ignition device, heat-producing device or substance or while manufacturing or attempting to manufacture a controlled dangerous substance… destroys in whole or in part, or causes to be burned or destroyed, or aids, counsels or procures the burning or destruction of any building or structure or contents thereof, inhabited or occupied by one or more persons, whether the property of that person or another, or who willfully and maliciously sets fire to or burns, or by the use of any explosive device, accelerant, ignition device, heat-producing device or substance or while manufacturing or attempting to manufacture a controlled dangerous substance… causes a person to be burned, or aids, counsels or procures the burning of a person, shall be guilty of arson in the first degree, which is a felony, and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine not to exceed Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000.00) or be confined to the State Penitentiary for not more than thirty-five (35) years or both.

Arson in the first degree, as you see, is the most severe classification of this crime, and will be the charge if someone is injured or killed in the process of burning a structure.

Second Degree Arson 

Any person who willfully and maliciously sets fire to or burns or by the use of any explosive device or substance or while manufacturing or attempting to manufacture a controlled dangerous substance… destroys in whole or in part, or causes to be burned or destroyed, or aids, counsels or procures the burning or destruction of any uninhabited or unoccupied building or structure or contents thereof, whether the property of himself or another, shall be guilty of arson in the second degree, which is a felony, and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine not to exceed Twenty Thousand Dollars ($20,000.00) or be confined in the State Penitentiary for not more than twenty-five (25) years or both.

While the punishment for second-degree arson is less severe because of the assumption that no one was hurt, the defendant could still face 25 years in prison.

Lesser Degrees of Arson Charges in OK

The Oklahoma statutes have laws on the books that deal with “lesser” degrees of arson. Arson in the third degree, which concerns the burning of personal or farm property, carries a punishment of up to 15 years in prison and/or a fine of $10,000. Fourth-degree arson concerns burning specific types or property, and carries a punishment of up to 10 years in prison and/or a $5,000 fine.

Don't Face Arson Charges Alone - Contact Our Criminal Defense Attorneys

As you see, arson is no laughing matter for anyone involved, especially you if you are facing these charges in Oklahoma. If that’s the case, you need to act immediately to begin the process of building a strong defense. Contact Privett Law immediately to schedule an initial consultation and to get this process started.